Welcome to our brigade website!

The Wamboin Rural Fire Brigade is a volunteer organisation that services the Wamboin, Bywong and Sutton Park communities

Monday, October 15, 2018, 14:15 | No Comments »
Training this Saturday will be a revisit of something we have done in the past but not for a while. We do overrun drills on a fairly regular basis but what we never get to experience is the pace at which events unfold.

We will go out on Saturday and simulate as best we can what occurs when a crew realises that they are going to be overrun. The speed at which events occur is quite an eye opener. The last time we ran this exercise people came away a bit stunned. Think of Usane Bolt running the 100 metres and you get some idea of how fast a fire up hill ahead of a 30 or 40 kph wind travels.

1330 on Saturday – please bring all PPE.

Sunday, September 30, 2018, 15:25 | No Comments »
To provide  more even distribution of training across the month, Saturday training is now being scheduled for the third Saturday of each month.

The brigade has two set training sessions each month:
  • the First Tuesday of the month between 7:30pm - 9:30pm
  • the Third Saturday of the month between 1:30pm - 4:30pm

Unless otherwise advised, training kicks-off at the Wamboin Fire Station, 112 Bingley Way, Wamboin.

Wednesday, August 29, 2018, 22:07 | No Comments »
Reminder to all Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council rural residents that the official bushfire danger period commences September 1st - that's this coming Saturday. If you NEED to burn from that date forward you will need a permit to do so, issued by your local brigade.
Note that due to the ongoing dry conditions (which led to the bringing-forward of the fire season by one month) permits will only be issued in exeptional circumstances, subject to actual weather conditions and decent rainfall occurring. Our permit-issuers will assess each request on its merits case-by-case
Call the Lake George Fire Control Centre on 6128 0600 BH for more information and for your local brigade contacts.

Thursday, August 9, 2018, 21:36 | No Comments »
Please Note: Training for this Saturday has been shifted one week to Saturday 18 August at 1.30pm. There will be no training on Saturday 11 August

Furthermore it has also been decided that in future Saturday training be moved to the third Saturday of the month. This will ensure we have a better spread of training across the month and avoid situations where the Tuesday night training occurs in the same week as the Saturday training.

Thursday, August 9, 2018, 21:35 | No Comments »
Bush Fire Danger Period to Start Early
6th August 2018
The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) is advising Queanbeyan Palerang Regional Council residents that fire permits will be required from the 1st of September.
NSW RFS District Officer Darren Marks said despite some welcome rainfall over the last few days, the ongoing dry conditions mean fires are more likely to start and spread quickly so the Bush Fire Danger Period has been brought forward to start on 1 September.
"From 1 September until the end of the Bush Fire Danger Period, people wishing to light a fire in the open will require a permit, which are free and can be obtained from your local fire station or Fire Control Centre," District Officer Marks said.
"As we move into warmer and drier conditions, people need to be extremely careful when using fire."
"Never leave a fire unattended and if a fire does escape, it is essential to call Triple Zero (000) immediately so that emergency services can respond accordingly and minimise the damage."
With the early start to the fire season the NSW RFS is urging residents to complete a Bush Fire Survival Plan and ensure all members of the household know what to do on days of increased fire danger and if their home is threatened by fire.
Residents should prepare their property by removing flammable materials from their yards, clearing gutters of leaves, checking hoses and, where appropriate, conducting hazard reduction activities.
"While it is important to continue hazard reduction we have all seen the devastation that bush fires can bring to a community, so I strongly urge people to exercise caution when carrying out these activities," District Officer Marks said.
"When conditions are particularly bad, such as on days of Severe, Extreme or Catastrophic Fire Danger, the NSW RFS may declare a Total Fire Ban, prohibiting the lighting of any fire in the open, even if you have a fire permit."
On a day of Total Fire Ban the lighting of fires is prohibited. This includes cooking fires using incinerators and barbecues which burn solid fuel, such as wood or charcoal.
Information about Bush Fire restrictions and Total Fire Ban declarations is published at www.rfs.nsw.gov.au. Locals can also call the Lake George Fire Control Centre on 6128 0600 or the Bushfire Information Line on 1800 NSW RFS (1800 679 737).

Sunday, August 5, 2018, 21:43 | No Comments »
Due to increased risks brought on by the lack of rain and the weather forecasts, the Bush Fire Danger Period, more commonly known as the Fire Season, has been brought forward to 1 September this year.

Due to the dry conditions it is possible that from 1 September permits will only be issued in limited circumstances where the material cannot be disposed of in another manner and presents a hazard if it is not removed prior to the end of the fire season.

If you do decide to have an open fire prior to 1st September, please follow the usual notification processes.

You can contact the Queanbeyan Fire Control Centre during business hours on 6128 0600 to discuss the need for a fire permit or to notify an intended burn.

Sunday, June 10, 2018, 23:51 | No Comments »
A fantastic, cross-brigade and cross-agency training session was set up by our Training Officer on Saturday at a local holiday village.  Crews and appliances attended from Bungendore, Sutton and Wamboin brigades, as well as paramedics and some local "actors" to add a little realism.  Check out the photo gallery to get a feel for what happened. 
Thanks to all crew who attended, the Capital Country Holiday Park for their support and to the volunteer "victims" for the great parts they played.
 Treating a simluated burn victim


Our Field Officers

  Matt O'Brien
Senior Deputy Captain
  Tim Barter
Deputy Captains
  Don Evans
    Cliff Spong  
    Dave Cochrane  
    Nev Schroder  
  Geoff Foster
  Darrell Tipton

Our Executive

President   Chris Powell AFSM  
Vice President
  Peter Greenwood
Secretary   Kevin Rowe email
Treasurer   Nev Schroder email
Community Education   Richard Hobbs  
Support Crew   Clare Hobbs  
  Tim Barter
  Dave Cochrane
  Ian Donald
  Rod Williams

Website Built with Kopage
← Get yours now